Brecon Fans Races


Pen y Fan Race 2011 Results

Click here for photos from Corn Du and the finish.

And another great set of photos taken by Gerry Ashton above the stile.

Click here for full results

See below for prize winners.


11.00am Saturday 16th July 2011.

The weather was proper filthy when we pitched up at 08:45 this morning. Driving rain made putting up the tent even more fun than usual, and we wondered if any runners would show. We were astonished and relieved that 78 seniors made it to the start line, as the sunshine finally blasted through the murk.

Before the start I thought the Jones brothers were looking likely, and so it turned out, with Andres establishing a clear lead on the climb, Felipe a few paces behind, then Mark Palmer, Matt Stott and Daniel Hooper following. Bets were on Mark's blistering descending winning the day, but the Jones's came down well with Felipe catching Andres to cross the line together looking pretty fresh. Mark arrived 25 seconds later looking like he'd just done a Bob Graham round.

In fact Stewart Bellamy was fastest descender (as in 2010), pulling through from 22nd at the summit to 11th at the end, taking 9:12 (Mark was second fastest in 9:28) - but don't get smug, this is still about 30% slower than Keith Anderson!

Helen Fines won the ladies race in fine style, with Helen Bennett a few minutes behind - her first race for months and a bit of a change from cycling in the Alps.

Records remained emphatically safe - the men's by 5 minutes 30 seconds, the women's by 4 minutes 33 seconds. The prize on the M record will rise to £600 next year.

The team competition was close between MDC (who have won for the last two years), Basingstoke & Mid Hants AC, Newbury AC, San Domenico and Springfield Striders. In fact Basingstoke nicked it, to their own apparent surprise.

In the junior race, Helen Flower bettered last year's time to finish second in 12:14, but Morgan Barnes from Reading won by a clear margin in 09:18.

Thanks to Mike Law and Dimitri Vorres on the summit, Gill Stott and Frankie on Corn Du taking photos, Sue Ashton at registration and the finish, Sally Law and Robin Flower at the stile, Ricky and Gerry Ashton at the gate, and to anyone else we've forgotten. And thanks to the sponsors Breconshire Brewery and Cotswold Brecon, the beer and prizes seemed to go down well!

We made the food ourselves this year - my zesty flapjacks, and Sally's caramel shortbread and cake - hope it was OK!

Crispin and Naomi

Prize Winners

1st Open Male Andres Jones Aberystwyth 35:30
2nd Open Male Felipe Jones Aberystwyth 35:31
3rd Open Male Mark Palmer Mynydd Du 35:56
1st Open Female Helen Fines Bristol & West 42:48
2nd Open Female Helen Bennett MDC 49:56
1st Male V40 Ed Gamble Cheshire Hill Racers 39:56
1st Male V50 Steve Davies Griffithston 43:48
1st Male V60 Gary Gunner Croft Ambrey 50:15
1st Male V70 --- --- ---
1st Female V40 Sarah Colbert Springfield Striders 53:20
1st Female V50 ---    
1st Female V60 Teresa Butchers Tiverton 01:00:09
1st Female V70 --- --- ---
1st Local John Sweeting MDC 55:18
Fastest to the stile Andres Jones Aberystwyth  
Fastest to the summit Andres Jones Aberystwyth 25:39
Fastest descent Stewart Bellamy Mercia 09:12
Team (3 runners) Dan Woolnough (8th)
Mark Slaney (29th)
Mark Bevan (37th)
Basingstoke & Mid Hants 40:18

Junior Results

1 Morgan Barnes (12) Reading 09:18
2 (1st F) Helen Flower (11) Brecon High School 12:14
3 Luke Davies (13)   12:49