Fan y Big Horseshoe Race 2007 Results


14.00am Sunday 22nd July 2007

Whilst our neighbours in the English counties suffered severe flooding we got off lightly and my reputation for good weather remained intact as 30 mins before the race the rain stopped, mountain mist lifted and the sky cleared.  Many thanks to London Frontrunners who came to support the weekend and visit the Brecon area during the wettest weather for many years.  Also to Giuseppe who took time out on his holiday to take part in the race, a bit of a change from the Dolomites!

A fast start through fields to the bottom of the Fan y Big ridge soon strung the field out and I could see a long snake developing as I collected in the tape.  The long climb up to Fan y Big summit was runnable for those fit enough but most walked so I hope they took in the views, then a flat run around the top of the horseshoe along a stony/rocky path before a long fast descent down The Bryn ridge.  I thought some might lose the line off the ridge but everyone seemed to heed my advice to keep to the left and found the tape as they negotiated the slippery and boggy conditions.  The tarmac at the end sapped people’s legs especially the flat run in through the village so I’m glad I kept it in the route!  An excellent run by Stan Charles beating off second placed Mark Palmer.  Helen Fines repeated her win from Pen y Fan the day before with Zoe Tucker second in a good time.  I’d also like to mention Naomi’s mum and dad (Sally and Michael Law) who supported the weekend and took part in the race – mum has now thrown down the gauntlet to daughter!

A good finish to the Brecon Fans Weekend with Mark and Helen taking the overall winners prizes for both days.  Everyone was very positive about the race route and location so don’t miss out next year, as I’m sure the weekend will grow in popularity.  Many thanks to Roger Finn for marshaling, Maxine and her mum for the tea/cakes and Pat at registration/finish.

Adrian Orringe

Prize Winners

Category Name Club Time
1st Open Male Stan Charles Bridgend 1.14.49
2nd Open Male Mark Palmer (V40) Mynydd Du 1.16.28
3rd Open Male Harry Matthews Mynydd Du 1.16.35
1st Open Female Helen Fines Bristol & West 1.26.54
2nd Open Female Zoe Tucker Bitton Road Runners 1.29.29
1st Male V40* Shaun Whelan London Frontrunners 1.17.59
1st Male V50 Steve Herington Hereford Couriers 1.32.04
1st Male V60      
1st Male V70 Tom Harrison London Frontrunners 1:27:30
1st Female V40 Alice Bedwell MDC 1.46.05
1st Female V50 Sue Ashton Chepstow Harriers 1.49.16
1st Female V60 Sally Law Unattached 1.57.05
1st Female V70      
Team (3 runners) Mark Palmer Mynydd Du  
  Harry Matthews Mynydd Du
  Crispin Flower Mynydd Du
* awarded to 2nd placed MV40 as Mark Palmer was overall winner

Full Results

1 Stan Charles SM Bridgend 1.14.49
2 Mark Palmer O/40 Mynydd Du 1.16.28
3 Harry Matthews SM Mynydd Du 1.16.35
4 Shaun Whelan O/40 London Frontrunners 1.17.59
5 Crispin Flower SM Mynydd Du 1.20.31
6 Chris Beecham SM Highgate Harriers 1.21.31
7 Dave Finn SM Mynydd Du 1.23.19
8 Alistair Sheffield SM Bitton Road Runners 1.23.25
9 Martin Shaw SM Mynydd Du 1.23.44
10 Gus Levy SM London Frontrunners 1.26.38
11 Helen Fines SF Bristol & West 1.26.54
12 Rhys Manning SM MDC 1.27.44
13 Mark Saunders O/40 MDC 1.27.44
14 Zoe Tucker SF Bitton Road Runners 1.29.29
15 Steve Herington O/50 Hereford Couriers 1.32.04
16 Eric Phillips SM London Frontrunners 1.33.41
17 Phil Miles O/50 Club 69 1.33.45
18 Dave Burton O/40 Stroud 1.34.39
19 Giuseppe Guariento O/50 Venezia, Italy 1.35.22
20 Michael Keddle SM Unattached 1.35.45
21 Richard Sharp O/40 London Frontrunners 1.36.20
22 Mark Forrest O/40 London Frontrunners 1.36.23
23 Andy Creber O/40 Chepstow Harriers 1.36.24
24 Gareth Griffiths SM Unattached 1.36.25
25 Alan Stone O/40 MDC 1.37.38
26 John Darby O/50 Mynydd Du 1.37.44
27 Martin Longhurst O/50 GWR 1.38.06
28 Leigh Searle SM Unattached 1.38.16
29 Colin Cottell O/40 London Frontrunners 1.40.26
30 Ian Healey O/40 Unattached 1.43.54
31 Pete Morfey O/50 Cardiff Harlequins 1.44.38
32 Alice Bedwell O/40 MDC 1.46.05
33 Alan Kelly SM Unattached 1.46.07
34 Joseph Lowe SM London Frontrunners 1.46.49
35 Andy Atkins O/40 London Frontrunners 1.47.02
36 Sue Ashton O/50 Chepstow Harriers 1.49.16
37 Jonathan Wheeler SM London Frontrunners 1.52.32
38 Andrew Paul O50 Nailsea Runners 1.55.29
39 Chris Donald O/40 Maidenhead 1.55.44
40 Claire Donald O/40 Maidenhead 1.55.44
41 Colin Downey O/40 Dudley 1.56.24
42 Mike McDonough SM London Frontrunners 1.56.32
43 Sally Law O/60 Unattached 1.57.05
44 Michael Law O/50 Unattached 1.58.32
45 Dave Gilbert O/50 MDC 2.00.32
46 Josef Woodward SM Unattached 2.07.10
47 Edward Pierce-Hughes   Eryri 2.07.51
48 Fiona Glen SF Islwyn 2.27.56
49 Tom Harrison O/70 London Frontrunners 2.46.08

Race organised by Adrian Orringe in association with Mynydd Du.