Pen y Fan Results 2015

Full results are on this page and photos can be seen here.


12 noon Saturday 11th July 2015.

Hugh Aggleton led from the start and won with ease for the third year running. Showing remarkable consistency, Hugh's time was two seconds faster than last year, and exactly the same as his winning time from 2013. Hugh's time of 34:13 while impressive for us mortals was 14% outside the record time - a massive margin, and a reminder of just how hard that record will be to beat. Matt Crane from Dark Peak was not far behind, pulling through the field after a steady start to be second at the summit and finish. Kiaran Lewis was in a good 3rd at the summit, but went walkabout on the descent, finishing 17th - maybe next year? Ben Moon set the fastest decent of the day to finish 3rd. Ben was followed by two impressive performances from unattached runners - Victor Bayona and Robin Woods - maybe time to join a club and maximise that talent?

Peter Williams in 43rd place ensured that MDC took the men's team prize.

Helen Brown looked back on form and took 1st Lady ahead of club mate Niki Morgan. Emma Bayliss had already run to the summit and back before the race, but still managed to be 3rd Lady, and was going round again after picking up (but presumably not drinking) her prize. Between them they secured the ladies' team prize for Mynydd Du.

It was great to welcome runners from far afield ... with representation from Spain, the USA, and Croydon.

Conditions were pretty good for the runners, with light winds, some cloud cover, sunshine and a few showers. The summit marshals were freezing!  So huge thanks to Katie Beecher, Mike, Tony and Andrew Law at the summit, Chris Chambers on Corn Du, Helen Flower and Sally Law at the stile, Sally Law and Lois Flower for registration and other duties, Emma Bayliss for culinary contributions, and Mark Palmer for timing - it would not be possible without you.

Thanks also to race sponsors Brecon Brewing and Pete Bland Sports, whose contributions of beer, numbers and prizes were appreciated as usual.

Crispin and Naomi


Senior prize winners

Category Name Club Time
1st Open Male Hugh Aggleton MDC 34:13
2nd Open Male Matt Crane Dark Peak FR 35:21
3rd Open Male Ben Moon MDC 37:08
1st Open Female Helen Brown Mynydd Du 44:09
2nd Open Female Niki Morgan Mynydd Du 46:00
3rd Open Female Emma Bayliss Mynydd Du 50:20
1st Male V40 David Haygarth Wharfedale Harriers 39:31
1st Male V50 Gavin Fisher Unattached 41:14
1st Male V60 Gary Gunner Croft Ambrey 52:16
1st Male V70 -- -- --
1st Female V40 Sasha Habgood Mynydd Du 51:46
1st Female V50 Rona Davies Mynydd Du 52:45
1st Female V60 --   59:43
1st Female V70 -- -- --
1st Local John Sweeting (Llandovery) MDC 1:01:45
Fastest to the summit Hugh Aggleton MDC 24:35
Fastest descent Ben Moon MDC 09:32
M Team Hugh Aggleton (1), Ben Moon (3), Peter Williams (43) MDC  
F Team Helen Brown (22), Niki Morgan (29), Emma Bayliss (45) Mynydd Du  


Junior results

Position Name Club/School Time
1 Dan Longwest Cross Ash 09:22
2 Robin Flower Priory School, Brecon 09:35
3 Daniel Gilbert Llanfaes School, Brecon 09:43
4 Thomas Gilbert Llanfaes School, Brecon 11:19
5 Kiera Andreasen (F) Feltwell Elementary 12:07