Fan y Big Horseshoe Race 2008 Results

Click here for photos


12.00pm Sunday 20th July 2008

Fine, clear weather but a blustery wind welcomed the runners to the lovely village of Llanfrynach nestling in the Brecon Beacons.  The Gurkhas were out in force and certainly packed well during the race to take the men's team prize.  I understand they were particularly good descenders and highly competitive.  Mark and Stan contested the initial climb to Fan y Big but poor route choice by Stan gave Mark the lead which he retained and increased over the final descent in a new course record.  Mandy Jones cruised round to win first lady and also FV40.  Brian Stadden seems to have had an excellent race and a good time to win MV50.  It was good to see the more senior age categories out with Gary Gunner in the MV60, Sally Law coming in ahead of Pauline Thomas in the FV60 and David Naylor coming in ahead of Allan Smith in the MV70.  My thanks to Mike and Harry for marshalling the tops and Mark P. who did the car parking and following his win got his pinney on in the kitchen.

Adrian Orringe

Overall winners of the Brecon Fans Race Weekend prizes were Mark Palmer, who won both races, and Sharon Woods, who won Pen y Fan and came 3rd in Fan y Big. Thanks to Cotswold and Breconshire Brewery for prizes!

Prize Winners

Category Name Club Time
1st Open Male Mark Palmer (V40) Mynydd Du 1.13.20
2nd Open Male Stan Charles Clwydian Rangers 1.15.03
3rd Open Male William Horsley Northumberland FR 1.19.22
1st Open Female Mandy Jones (V40) Islwyn RR 1.40.05
2nd Open Female Naomi Law Mynydd Du 1.40.53
1st Male V40* Dylan Owen Eryri 1.28.08
1st Male V50 Brian Stadden Bitton RR 1.25.13
1st Male V60 Gary Gunner Croft Ambrey 1.38.02
1st Male V70 David Naylor Unattached 1.46.22
1st Female V40* Sharon Woods Mynydd Du 1.46.22
1st Female V50 Sue Ashton Chepstow Harriers 1.47.33
1st Female V60 Sally Law Unattached 1.48.58
1st Female V70 ---------------    
Team (3 runners) Tulasi Gurung Gurkha 1.20.09
  Bejaya Tamang Gurkha 1.24.34
  Man Gurung Gurkha 1.24.37
* awarded to 2nd placed V40

Full Results

Pos Name Cat Club Time
1 Mark Palmer MV40 Mynydd Du 01:13:20
2 Stan Charles MS Clwydian Rangers 01:15:03
3 William Horsley MS Northumberland F.R. 01:19:22
4 Tulasi Gurung MS Gurkha 01:20:09
5 Crispin Flower MS Mynydd Du 01:20:48
6 Bejaya Tamang MS Gurkha 01:24:34
7 Man Gurung MS Gurkha 01:24:37
8 Niall Riddell MS Team NOG 01:24:41
9 Steven Cummins MS Army 01:24:51
10 Brian Stadden MV50 Bitton R.R. 01:25:13
11 Ananta Rai MS Gurkha 01:25:19
12 Suraj Magar MS Gurkha 01:25:26
13 Dominic Pascoe MS Unattached 01:25:28
14 Nick Frost MS Unattached 01:25:58
15 Sagar Gurung MS Gurkha 01:26:05
16 Shankar Magor MS Gurkha 01:26:15
17 Mohan Angdembe MS Gurkha 01:26:21
18 Andrew Spencer MS Rosey Runners 01:26:30
19 Dilbariadur Gurung MS Gurkha 01:26:37
20 Matthew Lawson MS Chepstow Harriers 01:26:44
21 Steven Metcalfe MS Unattached 01:26:56
22 Joe Pickles MS Great Western Runners 01:27:08
23 Dylan Owen MV40 Eryri 01:28:08
24 Krishna Limbu MS Gurkha 01:29:32
25 David Powell MV40 Croft Ambrey 01:29:52
26 Mamindra Rai MS Gurkha 01:31:33
27 Nick Kaiser MV50 Totley Terminators 01:32:27
28 Tim Corbett MS Unattached 01:32:28
29 Will Hillier MV40 Great Western R.R. 01:32:29
30 Steve Bajic MV40 Telford 01:32:30
31 Martin Woodhead MV40 Mynydd Du 01:33:14
32 David Cairns MV40 Preston 01:33:15
33 Jeremy James MV40 Unattached 01:34:06
34 John Hargreaves MV50 Great Western Runners 01:34:13
35 Martin Longhurst MV50 Great Western Runners 01:34:29
36 Nabin Rai MS Gurkha 01:34:50
37 Andrew Mason MV40 Springfield Striders 01:35:01
38 Andrew Kirby MV50 Great Western Runners 01:35:28
39 Stephen Littlewood MV50 Hereford 01:36:17
40 Gary Gunner MV60 Croft Ambrey 01:38:02
41 Jon Legge MV40 Springfield Striders 01:38:18
42 Graham Barlow MV50 3M's Gorseinon 01:38:59
43 Julian Catmull MV40 Springfield Striders 01:39:24
44 Russell Porter MS Unattached 01:39:25
45 Nick Whittingham MV50 Penistone F.R. 01:39:37
46 Stephen Jones MV50 Islwyn R.R. 01:39:46
47 Andrew Kettles MV40 Springfield Striders 01:39:59
48 Mandy Jones FV40 Islwyn R.R. 01:40:05
49 Robert Ford MV50 Pontypridd Roadents 01:40:18
50 Naomi Law FS Mynydd Du 01:40:53
51 Gerry Ashton MV50 Chepstow Harriers 01:43:15
52 Stuart Woodhead MV50 Penistone F.R. 01:43:22
53 Paul Taylor MS Unattached 01:44:22
54 Clive Rowberry MV50 Hereford 01:45:11
55 Simon Barnes MS Stroud 01:45:23
56 Geoffrey Dimlow MV50 Penistone F.R. 01:45:43
57 John Williams MV50 Springfield Striders 01:45:48
58 Sharon Woods FV40 Mynydd Du 01:46:22
59 David Naylor MV70 Unattached 01:46:22
60 Sue Ashton FV50 Chepstow Harriers 01:47:33
61 Sally Law FV60 Unattached 01:48:58
62 John Darby MV50 Mynydd Du 01:49:13
63 Les Williams MV60 Eryri 01:51:33
64 Tom Usher MS Gurkha 01:52:45
65 Simon Berry MS Unattached 01:54:11
66 Robert Morgan MV40 Unattached 01:55:31
67 Robert Kneale MS Unattached 01:55:41
68 Andy Plummer MV50 Penistone F.R. 01:55:49
69 Hanneke Van der Werf FV40 Mynydd Du 01:56:10
70 Lon Morgan MV50 TROTS 01:56:30
71 Allan Smith MV70 3M's Gorseinon 01:57:58
72 Bridget Harvey FS Great Western Runners 01:58:14
73 Andrew Yates MS Unattached 02:06:52
74 Fiona Glen FS Islwyn R.R. 02:10:13
75 Pauline Thomas FV60 TROTS 02:10:32
76 Stephen Kho MS Unattached 02:10:44
77 Martyn Yates MV40 Unattached 02:10:44
78 Richard Cousins MS Unattached 02:17:38


Race organised by Adrian Orringe in association with Mynydd Du.