Fan y Big Results 2012

11.00am Sunday 15th July 2012

Click here for results.


Weeks of rain had made conditions underfoot very wet and slippery but failed to dampen the enthusiasm of 114 competitors toeing the start line for part two of the Brecon Fans Race Weekend.  Their reward was a dry and sunny day of racing with the bonus of clear views across the Beacons.

The leading pack had little time to appreciate the scenery with the first 3 within 19 seconds of each other at the top of Fan-y-Big.  Harry Matthews and Pete Ryder continued their battle on the descent to Llanfrynach where even a sprint finish failed to separate them, crossing the line together in a time of 1.16.04.  Pete deserves extra credit for having raced Pen-y-Fan the previous day and therefore taking overall ‘Fans Weekend’ honours. Meanwhile Harry deserves extra credit for recovering from a full wipe-out on the descent, after which he was bloodied and bruised and slathered in mud.

Credit also to Liza Barry of CLC Striders for scoring 2nd place in both races and taking the weekend honours in the Female category. Emma Bayliss of Mynydd Du took the win on the day in a time of 1.33.47.

The team prizes were closely contested, but in the end Mynydd Du took both the male and female prizes.

Fans Weekend overall winners were Pete Ryder and Liza Barry.

A special mention goes to Emily Rose who gave first aid and then escorted an injured runner off the fells to the safety of the marshals.  A great example of the caring nature of the fell running fraternity.

Thank you to all competitors and helpers who make this race possible.

Mark Palmer

Prize Winners

Category Name Club Time
1st = Harry Matthews and Pete Ryder Mynydd Du & Brycheiniog 01:16:04
2nd Open Male      
3rd Open Male Sean Taylor Mynydd Du 01:17:51
1st Open Female Emma Bayliss Mynydd Du 01:33:47
2nd Open Female Liza Barry CLC Striders 01:36:37
1st Male V40 Crispin Flower Mynydd Du 01:25:39
1st Male V50 Paul Jeggo Springfield Striders 01:29:37
1st Male V60 Neil Grant Chepstow Harriers 01:40:35
1st Male V70 Tom Harrison Mynydd Du 02:35:23
1st Female V40 Niki Morgan Chepstow Harriers 01:38:22
1st Female V50 Sharon Woods Mynydd Du 01:46:57
1st Female V60 Sally Law Unattached 02:01:05
1st Female V70 --- --- ---
Fastest to the summit Pete Ryder Brycheiniog 00:38:03
Fastest descent Harry Matthews Mynydd Du 00:38:00
M Team (3 runners) Harry Matthews (1st=), Sean Taylor (3rd), Jonathan Barnes (4th) Mynydd Du  
F Team (3 runners) Emma Bayliss (23rd), Samantha Toop (61st), Sharon Woods (66th), Mynydd Du