Results and summit splits are now available here

Photos are available here


12 noon Sunday 9th July 2017.

For once we were able to put up the registration tent without getting blown over. In fact a perfect day was unfolding for almost everyone at the Pen y Fan Race. 

In the junior race, Jimi Eldridge set a new course record in 7:33, with second-placed Holly Love also finishing inside the old mark of 07:48. Juniors turned at "the boulder" before the stile this year, to avoid getting tangled up in the queues for the stile, but that would only account for a few seconds - so well done both. And Jimi reaches the age where he can enter the Senior race next year.

It was pretty warm and close for the seniors, though partial cloud cover provided some respite from a baking sun, and conditions underfoot were perfect. 

Dan Doherty of Mynydd Du led strongly to the summit and for most of the descent, but a slightly wayward line across the squidgy bit allowed Michael Corrales to nick it in a time of 36:23. Dan finished 9 seconds behind, with last year's winner Sam Bevan in 3rd place in a time of 37:35.

Helen Brown (née Fines) of Mynydd Du, possibly stoked up from her encounter with "the Velothon" on the way to the race, won the ladies race for a remarkable eighth time in 45:16, ahead of Gemma Moore and Hayley Evans.

Last year Gary Gunner smashed the MV70 record and we thought the new mark would stand for years. Not so! John Morris of Buckley Runners took another 47 seconds off it to finish in 56:15. We've still never had a female over 70 finisher at Pen y Fan, so that particular record stands wide open.

The men's team prize was won by Mercia - the young Starling boys and the slightly more mature Ed Davies proving an unbeatable combination. Mynydd Du won the ladies team prize by a wide margin, Helen Brown backed up by Rhian Probert and Rona Davies, who also won FV40 and FV50 respectively.

One runner experienced severe heatstroke, collapsing at the finish and requiring hospital treatment overnight. We've now heard (Thursday) he's been discharged ok, and is almost ready for his beer and cakes. It was impressive to see fellow runners working together to help, with GP, mountain rescue, and military experience all emerging, race winner Michael Corrales fetching the casualty back to registration in his 4-wheel drive, and Natalie Taylor taking him onwards to hospital. Thanks to everyone who helped out - it could happen to any of us.

The usual big thanks marshals and helpers: Mike and Tony Law at the summit, Helen Flower at the stile and for home-baking, Sally Law on registration and cake making, and John Chidlow for timing.

Thanks also to race sponsors Brecon Brewing and Pete Bland Sports, whose contributions of beer, numbers and prizes were appreciated as always.

Crispin and Naomi

Senior prize winners

Category Name Club Time
1st Open Male Michael Corrales North Wales Road Runners 36:23
2nd Open Male Dan Doherty Mynydd Du 36:32
3rd Open Male Sam Bevan Basingstoke & Mid Hants AC 37:35
1st Open Female Helen Brown Mynydd Du 45:16
2nd Open Female Gemma Moore North Wales Road Runners 47:07
3rd Open Female Hayley Evans Buckley Runners 47:22
1st Male V40 Jez Brown Buckley Runners 38:46
1st Male V50 Christian Poulton Cambridge Harriers 42:17
1st Male V60 Edward Davies MDC 45:36
1st Male V70 John Morris Buckley Runners 56:15
1st Female V40 Rhian Probert Mynydd Du 49:08
1st Female V50 Rona Davies Mynydd Du 52:41
1st Female V60 Joc Dodd Chepstow Harriers 64:47
1st Female V70 -- -- --
Fastest to the summit Dan Doherty Unattached 26:19
Fastest descent Michael Corrales North Wales Road Runners 09:30
M Team Billy Starling (4), Joe Starling (12), Ed Davies (23) Mercia  
F Team Helen Brown (21), Rhian Probert (42), Rona Davies (52) Mynydd Du  


Junior results

Position Name Cat Age Club/School Time
1 Jimi Eldridge M 15 Godshill Massive 07:33
2 Holly Love F 14 Worcester AC 07.43
3 Robin Flower M 13 Brecon High School 07.52
4 Kieran Morgan M 11 Forest of Dean AC 08:26
5 Charlotte Broadhurst F 12 Ludlow 08:51
6 Chloe Morgan F 10 Forest of Dean AC 09:09
7 Joseph Murphy M 10 Cradoc 09:11
8 Ellie Morgan F 8 FODAC 12:59